Here I Go Again. I Guess.

October 24, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’m not really sure what I hope to get out of blogging again. I think for the most part my thoughts are best expressed in the neverending spew of verbal upchuck that is Twitter. But here goes.

I blogged rather avidly from 2003 until early 2007. I wasn’t very good at it. I wanted to be bold and funny and ended up coming across as horribly self-absorbed. Not that that’s too far off, as I consider myself as only somewhat self-absorbed.I made loads of cheeky predictions about baseball and elections, most of which came out wrong. I tried too hard.

This time’s going to be different. For starters, I won’t try and blog every day. If I do, so be it – but I really don’t see it happening. I have no set topics that I’m going to intend to blog about other than food. Food’s an easy topic. It’s fun. It’s messy. It’s experimental. There’s lots of pictures involved. I get emotional over food and throw tantrums when stuff doesn’t come out as expected. Maybe there will be pictures of that too. Sure, there’s an oversaturation of food blogs out there – just like there was an oversaturation of mundane “day in the life” blogs last time I tried to do this. So I’ll pepper it up with all the other fun stuff – the joys of parenting, the perils of owning an old house, the masochism of being a fan of some of the most frustrating sports franchises in existence, my terribly conflicted (and conflicting) political views, and the occasional yarn from my younger, more reckless days.

Maybe by not trying so hard this time around, I’ll stand out. Maybe not. Either way, I look forward to some of you sticking around for the ride.

 

 

§ One Response to Here I Go Again. I Guess.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Here I Go Again. I Guess. at ilkcarton.

meta

