Life Gets In The Way, Yeah Yeah

April 4, 2012 § Leave a comment

When I started blogging again last fall, my plan was to blog occasionally. But not this occasionally.

The new job had me shuttling back and forth between home in Chicago and my office in NY for the past 12 weeks. Naturally, with my typical luck I was booked on 3 different airlines during those weeks so I wasn’t even able to rack up elite status on any carrier. I was fortunate enough to be able to stay in a corporate apartment instead of a typical NY 12×10 hotel room. Couldn’t beat the view of Battery Park City or of the Statue of Liberty (as long as you pressed your nose against the window glass and looked as far left as you could).

People asked me all the time “how do you handle being away all week?” My stock answer was “I’m in New York. If I can’t find something to do every night and just sit around moping alone then it’s my own damned fault.”

I met a ton of great people, many of whom I’d talked to on Twitter many times. Always great to put names with faces, even greater when you do it over beers. Everyone was incredibly welcoming, and I’m thankful to them all.

I was too lazy to blog, mainly because I was too lazy to take my laptop home at night and let’s be honest – while an iPad is an incredible device, typing anything longer than a tweet on it downright sucks.

But now I’m back into a somewhat regular routine – aside from the whole working in the basement until the office here opens end of April thing. Trust me – while working from home sounds great, it has a lot of downsides. Like the urge t raid the fridge every 10 minutes.

I like Westwood to win the Masters. Snedeker’s my sleeper.

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life Gets In The Way, Yeah Yeah at ilkcarton.

meta

